Diapause

chaos. Panic. Pandemonium. My work here is done.I wanted to update my regular readers about some upcoming changes here at the Bug Blog!

Diapause is a delay in development in insects. It’s usually in response to periods of adverse environmental conditions.  After October 1, I’ll be on posting hiatus, and will close comments.  I’ll also be dialing back the Bug Media Empire™ social streams a bit.

The really exciting thing?
YOU DON’T NEED ME ANYMORE.

Eight years ago there were no bug blogs.  Hell, there weren’t that many nature-related blogs. But today? There is an amazing amount of writing and media related to entomology online.   Just look at my list–which is still incomplete. I discover new blogs daily.

I’ve been working on giving all of you a brain dump about how to dominate insect social media for the last couple of weeks because I have learned a LOT of stuff in the 7 years I’ve been blogging. I want all of you to benefit from that.

I’m not leaving forever!   I’ll still post at Skepchick as Bug Girl, and I’ll still be socializing on social media–just not as much as in the past.   I need to spend more time on things I do with my real name in the real world.   I serve as Webmaster for several non-profits, and they will be what I focus more energy on in the near future.  I hope to also finally find time to finish up the bug blog survey project, and a few other dangling threads.

More rambling below the fold for those who are morbidly curious.

Why go into Diapause now?

I need to find a job. I have 90 days to find a job, in fact.  Job hunting is extremely time consuming, and also a bit exhausting.  It’s also becoming increasingly clear that my Bug Girl persona is a liability, not an asset.  This is a sad thing, but a reality.  As I said in a Breaking Bio video chat, the Bug Girl Career Path is a simple one:

Step 1: Get Matches.
Step 2: Find a Bridge.

I wrote here in part to help people see the beauty of insects, but also to challenge myself to write, write regularly, and  write about science in a way that anyone could read, not just PhDs.  Sometimes I even managed to accomplish that.

I also had a lot of fun ranting and raving.

In retrospect, perhaps the Bug Blog might not have been the best way to go about building an online reputation.  But it was an awesome trip, and the bridges made a lovely fire.

I REGRET NOTHING.

I have so many amazing online friends.  I love you all. 

I am so glad that this is the path I took in my random science walk on the internet. And I expect to run into all of you again after I’ve completed my diapause and metamorphosis into whatever the hell kind of insect I turn into next.

I’d better see all my bug blogger friends at ScienceOnline2013!

33 thoughts on “Diapause

  1. Good luck. It’s a drag that you are doing a diapause so shortly after I met you in person (at CONvergence) and started to follow you. I still don’t know how to send you pictures of the amazing bugs we see in our part of the world. So, sadness all around. But good luck finding a job. Come back financially healthy and full of energy. I’ll still be here, I hope. :-(

  2. “Bugger.” ~ Winston Churchill, Sept. 1st, 1939.

    “Never has so much been illustrated about insects, to so many, so often.” ~ Abraham Lincoln.

    You will be missed. Write a book or something!

  3. Dang, I’m sorry I missed participating in your survey. I had a pretty crappy summer, and I was kind of meh about blogging. Oh well, best of luck and hope to find you after your metamorphosis.

  4. Sorry to hear this, BugGirl, but you gotta do what you gotta do. Hope you’ll still hang out with us on twitter.

  5. Good luck in your job search. I will greatly miss your well written, entertaining and educational posts. It is disconcerting to hear that you view Bug Girl as a liability to your career. Then again, I have reconciled to keeping those things that give me joy in life separate from my suck-job that pays the bills.

  6. Please, just don’t delete your groundbreaking rescue of Rachel Carson, and your clear-headed posts on bedbugs and DDT. Who will we turn to when the Internet’s Authority on All Things Buggy slows down?

  7. Good luck! I hope you manage to find a job soon, so you may pick up your blogging activities again.

  8. I only regret that I discovered your blog relatively late and so didn’t get to enjoy it in real-time for as long. It’s a masterful work, though, and I hope that you can continue in your real-life career and job-search while bursting into occasional snatches of Edith Piaf songs (“Non, je ne regrette rien…”).

  9. Good luck Bug Girl. You’ve done more for ‘outreach’ than any other person let alone any other organisation! Illegitimi non carborundum.

  10. Best of luck finding a job! I would suggest coming to Canada, but things are awful slow here right now. Most Govt. departments are on hiring freezes…

  11. *cries* This is sad news :( You were one of the first bug blogs I discovered several years ago and have always been a favorite, not to mention an inspiration. I have no doubt that you’ll find great success in whatever your next adventure turns out to be :)

  12. TGIQ hit the nail on the head. I love you! And always will! From the time I discovered your blog 3 years ago.. to the weeks later when I finally finished reading Each And Every Single Post.. to now… you have been quite an inspiration. Please don’t squash your BG fb account, and please keep these archives around – the world needs you. Also, if you visit West TX, drop a line!

  13. Will miss your posts loads. You are obviously extremely intelligent as well as being a great communicator, so I hope you find the great job you clearly deserve soon.

  14. Wow, BugGirl, yours is the first bug blog I followed, it is sad your nymph life has come up to an end, but I await your metamorphosis, I am sure we’ll all be able to follow you whatever appearance you take, keep us posted! All the best with job hunting.

  15. I’ll miss this blog, but I’ll be seeing you elsewhere. I hope the job search goes well and quickly.
    And thank you for all you’ve done here, and elsewhere.

  16. Good luck with the job search and have a productive diapause. I’ll be looking forward to your return. Meanwhile, I’ve draped the HBG with a Mourning Cloak for you.

  17. Your blog was the inspiration for me to create my own ent-art blog. You’re an inspiring, unstoppable voice, and I wish you all the best, and hope you get a chance to return. You’re the awesomest! Glad you’ll still be around SkepChick and other mighty venues..!

  18. Hello, I just found this place and see I am commenting just before the deadline. I hope you or one of your other commenters can help me. I feel silly asking. You can call this, The Case of the Lazarus Ants.
    When I was a kid, I received an ant farm for Christmas. To me, the most salient thing to remember about it was that my little brother eventually knocked it over and killed my ants. While visiting my mother recently, somehow the ant farm was brought up and she remembered something much more spectacular. When I got it, I lived in upstate NY. In those days, and maybe in these, you received your ants in the mail. Having arrived in upstate New York in the dead of winter, when our ants arrived they were motionless and apparently dead. We were very bummed out and had even put them in some sort of bubble wrap coffin envelope that came in the package. I remembered that they eventually revived. Even then I had inferred that ants go dormant in cold weather.
    I am an atheist. My mother is a fundamentalist Christian. What she remembered was that we prayed for the ants and then they came back to life. I know this is absurd and am a little embarrassed for her that she actually believes it. I see on the wikipedia entry for ants that it mentions they go dormant in winter, but i am looking for a better source. Can anyone here help me? Until then, I will have to remain open to the possibility that God cared more about my ants coming back to life than all the starving children in the world.

  19. Semi-unrelated… birds are my thing. A few times each year I’m contacted with some amazing testimonial of how a bird hit a window and they prayed for it and it got better and flew away. Prayer or not, birds that hit windows have about a 50% chance of surviving. And a good chunk of the ones that fly away die later of internal injuries, but, hey, it sounded like a good story.

  20. All the best in your work-seeking and in your coming out with your name! Will miss this blog. Mind, people often stop blogging for a bit – then find they can’t stop after all and return.

    It’s a shame you can’t just change your name here to the one you now want to be known by. Is that not possible?

Comments are closed.