Gluteus Freakyous

So, I am looking for something to do that will keep me moving, now that I am going to bail on Mr. Spandex and Arnis class. I thought bellydancing might be fun, and have gotten a few DVDs to play with via Netflix. This week: “Bellydance Fitness Fusion: Pilates ” with Suhaila.

Wholy freakin’ crap. I have never seen anything like that.
21 women with their back to the camera simultaneously lifting first the left, then the right buttock. And then doing it double time. And then alternating doubles. I don’t mean clenching them, I mean lifting and rotating them.

Individually.

Without using their hands.

Then they did isolations on their stomach muscles. It seems that they have an awful lot more abdominal muscles than me, because while I barely managed to make my stomach pooch in and out, they were making different sections of their stomach move around. Hmmm. Don’t look for me to fold any dollar bills for you any time soon.

So, if you are walking by my office this week, and see me doing something strange….just keep walking. It’s best not to ask.

Also in the news: my awesome little car won the Tour de Sol ! (ok, it wasn’t my car. but it was an Insight!)