Summer Book Report, part 1

I thought I would pass on some of the cool (and sucky) things I’ve read this summer. I actually know what I have and haven’t read because of a wonderful little program called Bookpedia. I love this program!

I know which novels in a series I’ve read, and if I liked them.  it even downloads the cover art, so I can get a visual reminder of what the book looked like.

It’s just awesome. I don’t know how I ever got along without it.

Since I read a LOT–over 100 books this summer–I will just hit some of the high points.

  • Best new author this summer: Naomi Novik’s His Majesty’s Dragon. One of the best parts–all three books in the series were published this summer, instead of having to wait for 3 years to find out what happened!  Very good summer read.  Of course, you will hate this woman for writing such a great first novel.
  • Best author new to me this year: Connie Willis.  I’m not sure how I missed her. If you haven’t read it already, read Three Men and a Dog by Jerome Jerome. (One of my favorite novels, and extremely silly. Perfect for summer.)  Then get Willis’ To Say Nothing of the Dog.  This wild time travel novel somehow tangles up Victorian boating on the Thames with a world-ending time paradox.  Very, very funny!The other book of hers I strongly recommend is “The Doomsday Book.”  Another time travel novel, and this one is totally different. I have always been interested in the Black Death because of it’s entomological component, so I’ve read lots of nonfiction about the time period and the plague.  None of those books made me feel the scope of the tragedy in the way this book did. I felt a real sense of loss and horror that even reading the diaries from the period never conveyed.  A heavy read, but very powerful.

Other honorable mentions:

I finally got around to reading The Stupidest Angel, by Christopher Moore. Loved it. A sweet Christmas story–with zombies.
I also really liked A Year in the Merde, by Stephen Clark.  An Fnglishman is hired by a French company to launch English tea shops in Paris.  French Snobbery Ensues.