Frogs that go “bonk”

In a lighter vein: I finally found out what the frogs making that intriguing noise at night are!

Green Frogs, Rana clamitans. (I know, creative name.) The male’s call is described as “the pluck of a loose banjo string.”

A banjo string is certainly a lot less embarrassing to ask someone about than having to say “Hey, do you know what those frogs that go “bonk” are?”

I was not able, alas, to find recordings online to link to, but if you know of one, please share! Duh! It was right in front of me–thanks to DavidP for finding that.

A green frog pales in comparison, though, to the psychedelic purple frog from Surinam recently discovered.

9 thoughts on “Frogs that go “bonk”

  1. My pond amphibians sound more like castanets. I’ve yet to figure out what kind of frogs they are! Or, if they even are frogs. There’s also some brown bumpy probably-toads bouncing around the yard at times, or maybe they’re the same … they’re too shy to do much of a morphological study. Not that I’m sure on the distinguishing characteristics; like the Little Brown Birds and Little Black Beetles and Goddamn Yellow Composite flowers, some organisms do not quickly yield identification.

  2. Oops, didn’t get the the first link right. The first sentence has the link to your green frog’s name. “Frogs of Australia” is the link to a page with our pobblebonk’s sound.

  3. Aw shucks BG, you should have asked me! I can identify some common herp species around these parts…

    To commenter #1, your castanet froggies are maybe chorus frogs (though I always thought they sounded a little like when you slowly drag your thumbnail down a plastic comb). I’d have to hear them for sure, though!

  4. I just got a frog but I dont know what kind it is could you help? It is a frog that is a murky green whith black stripes down it’s back. It’s a girl I know that because of her thumbs and her stomach is realy big and sweling so I dont know if she pregnate or not could you help me?

Comments are closed.