More insect food!

Wired had a feature this week on the “Most Curious Canned Goods Online” and one definitely is on my list: Canned pupae.Yummy pupae!

Silkworm Pupae
Literally meaning pupa or chrysalis,
beondegi are popular Korean street snacks, often dished out by the cupful to eager passers-by. The stewed and seasoned silkworm treats come highly recommended as bar bites. Next time you crave a quick mouthful on the go, grab a can of these crunchy chrysalises.”

I also found a list of 32 edible insect foods you can buy online, but they were mostly the usual chocolate covered ants. Ho Hum. The “smokey BBQ scorpions” though, did look intriguing.


Add yours →

  1. but wait! there’s more! Queen Ant Royal Jelly Lotion! “Invigorating!”

  2. I’m surprised I missed this one before. I actually tried silkworm pupae from a street stall while in Korea (though not before I learnt what they were, because I didn’t want to try anything that looked that vile unless I could brag about what it was). I only managed two before quietly chucking the rest in the bin. They tasted exactly like mushrooms picked too old, when they’ve become all sporey.

  3. Ew. Although I am very envious that you are close enough to Asia to try these things–they never seem to make it to Michigan.

Comments are closed.