Things I’ve learned at the ESA meeting

1. Lots of people are interested in Bed Bugs! We had 3 bedbug symposia.

2. As usual, all the papers I want to see are scheduled at the same time, and on opposite ends of the conference center. Sigh.

3. The Town and Country in San Diego is a pretty awful place to have a meeting. I don’t recommend it.

4. People I went to graduate school with now have kids in college. This is completely impossible, and there has been clearly some sort of space/time distortion. I can’t possibly be that old, and those tiny babies can’t be all grown up now.

I’ve been considering blogging about papers I’ve seen here, but I’m hesitant to do that, since lots of what is presented here isn’t “officially” published yet. On the other hand, presenting at a meeting does release the info.

What do you think? Opinions?

9 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned at the ESA meeting

  1. No thoughts on blogging about the papers, just my observation that children age much more quickly than grown ups. Cell division slows as we age, so obviously, a child can go from age 6 to age 16 in the time it takes us to age only 3 to 5 years. It’s happened to me many times!

    My building is treating for bedbugs and the procedures will be pretty draconian. I’m not looking forward to it, but I want bedbugs even less.

  2. Don’t forget to tell Hopper doc that I said “hi” and also sorry about all the lousy point gluing ;-)

    Enjoy the weather, too (’cause we are on our 2nd ice storm!)

  3. I don’t see why it would be a problem to talk about papers presented at a conference. As long as credit is given to the Authors.

    I found out last night that 4 couples I am friends with are pregnant. All due within two weeks of each other.

    Time does sneak by.

  4. I personnally would be very reluctant to blog someone else’s research that’s unpublished, even if it’s been exposed at a professional conference. Because publishing sometimes takes longer than expected and being scooped can be a disaster to young researchers. Making some unpublished results even more accessible always increases the odds scooping happens.

    That said, contacting the authors is ethically the least you must do. I’m sure there’s enough in the published pool to blog about and keep readers hooked, and this is without bad consequences to anybody…

    Now I guess I’m rather conservative about all of this, but I’m experienced enough to have seen worrisome situations…

  5. I agree with you about the town and country not being a good place for the ESA meeting. I was there with my caddisfly jewelry! Did you come by and see my booth.
    I do love the bug people and San Diego was great but the hotel was not so great!!

    Thanks for your blog.

    Kathy

Comments are closed.