Snow, coming home, and back to work

Well, I’m back from the Entomology conference, and I’m now snug in my house, looking at the snow fall. (I also know for sure that I’m back in rural Michigan, because I can see my neighbor and his gun stomping around in the corn fields. 10 inches of snow doesn’t seem like ideal hunting weather to me, but what do I know?)

Every time I travel, I realize again that I am, in fact, very much a homebody:

“Noun. 1. homebody – a person who seldom goes anywhere; one not given to wandering or travel”

That’s me! I like seeing all my friends, and seeing some cool new research, but dang I am SO GLAD to be back at home. If my husband didn’t prod me to go outside and interact with people socially, I’d probably never leave.

They really need to hurry up with that Star Trek transporter technology. That would be perfect. Then I could travel–and return home immediately.

So, hopefully, I’ll be back on the job, back to writing more about what I learned at the meetings, and back to (slightly) more informative pieces. For now, though, I’m watching the snow fall, hoping my neighbor has hot coffee with him out there in his blind, and just staying in bed. Home.

EDITED 1 HOUR LATER TO ADD: Son Of A Bitch! The snow plow destroyed our mailbox, and also uprooted my Weigela bush that was planted by it. Damn it! Welcome home to me.

4 thoughts on “Snow, coming home, and back to work

  1. Damn, that’s a real bummer! Means trooping to the post office most every day until you can re-install a mailbox to their satisfaction. Unless you have a r-e-a-l-l-y nice carrier.

    I hear you with the homebody thing; my two favorite things are travelling and coming home. But I find that the older I get, the more difficult the actual process of travelling gets. I want my own bed and my usual breakfast routine. We’ve often wished for transporter technology as well.
    andrea

  2. Glad you are back home! About the mailbox and plant: did you take pictures? You will find that the county/city will pay for the damage if you push them. I speak from experience…

  3. Ahem. Photo linked in post…..
    :)

    We did manage to clear out enough snow to have a pizza delivered tonight, since hubby is on a deadline, and I…am supposed to be doing work. But I’m really just lazy.

Comments are closed.