It’s hard out here for a socially awkward entomologist

Ugh. One of the things I hate most about the holidays is the need to sort out just what needs to be done in terms of gifts and parties for the workplace. My new boss gave me a present–what does that mean?
Do I need to give her one back?
Should I be sending cards to everyone?
What am I supposed to be doing????

I don’t know any of the rules about what is expected, and I’m not good enough at small talk to really do well at the holiday gatherings:

“What are you doing for Christmas?”
“Um, lamenting the over-commercialization of your imaginary savior dude’s birth?”

Adding to my problems: I think I have the Largest. Personal. Space. Bubble. EVAR.

Seriously. If you’re at arm’s length from me, you’re too close. There is a great deal of hugging at events like these, and I’m just not comfy with that. It freaks me out when people I don’t know well touch me. I don’t find it comforting.

I think I’m going to go get some chocolate.

6 thoughts on “It’s hard out here for a socially awkward entomologist

  1. Actually, it was less a snappy reply and more something I very much was afraid would come blurting out.

    I tend to be a blurter. I blame the brain damage. :p

  2. Also painful for atheist ornithologists. Today I face the annual department holiday potluck, which is really the personal Christmas party for the department slacker and her holy roller friends and followers (among them, my boss). I have a very difficult paper to revise that I’d like to get submitted soon which I’d like to WORK on today so I don’t have to spend more than 3 days over the break in a cold empty office slaving over it. Blech.

  3. Ugh, me too! I’m glad I’m not the only one!

    BTW, I’ve never posted a comment here, but I really enjoy reading your blog, Bug Girl. I learned about you through Skepchick a few months ago. Keep up the great posts.

    Jen:)

  4. “Um, lamenting the over-commercialization of your imaginary savior dude’s birth?”

    My favorite retort of the season! That needs to be converted into some kind of plaque. Love your blog, BTW.

Comments are closed.