DDT conference in Michigan

Wag of the antennae to Millard Fillmore for finding this:

Eugene Kenaga International DDT Conference on Environment and Health
DDT: What We Know; What Do We Need to Know?

On March 14, 2008, Alma College, in Alma, Mich., is hosting a conference examining what is known about the impact of DDT on human health and the environment.

I am long overdue with the third in my Rachel Carson/DDT series that refutes some of the wacky claims that have been made in an attempt to greenwash DDT. Alas, as you may have noticed, my new job is making writing posts of any length or complexity very difficult.

The last in the series was to be about the safety of DDT, and many of the authors of papers that I planned to cite will be at the Alma Conference! They will clearly be discussing the issue of DDT as a hormone disruptor, and it’s DDT Table from NASestrogenic activity.

I’ve included a table from the National Academies, where you can see that DDT and it’s chemical relatives and metabolites have been recognized  as estrogenic compounds for quite some time.

Since it’s been a while since I’ve addressed the DDT issue, I’ll throw in another couple of links:

8 thoughts on “DDT conference in Michigan

  1. Any chance you can make it to Alma on the appointed day? It would be great to have a wise blogger listening in and reporting.

    My new project is keeping me from the keyboard, too. I have tracked down several more of the odd footnotes from Steven Milloy and the Purveyors of Junk Science, and their case gets weaker. They have cited scientists saying one thing, while the scientists said the opposite — several times.

    I hope the publication of information from Alma will be quick . . .

  2. Keep up the good work. I’m ashamed to admit to not knowing much about Rachel Carson. But I now have a copy of “Courage for the Earth” on the nightstand, mainly due to the blog posts I saw here!

  3. Thanks Dave! It’s encouraging that my tilting at electronic windmills has had some effect :)

    I would really like to go to the Alma conference–maybe if things slow a little in the next week, I’ll investigate. They are only going to have 200 attendees (it’s a small place), so I’d better decide soon.

  4. I’m sorry I didn’t mean to imply you were endorsing DDT, I just wanted to present the alternatives, via the link I posted, which I didn’t see clearly depicted in your post.

    FYI – I’m not exactly a “smurf”, and I do provide a provide a very candid discussion on my website presenting both sides of the topic. :-D

  5. What I see on the page that your name is linked to is a commercial site selling colloidal silver.
    I’m glad you’re not blue (yet), but you are clearly linked to a commercial site promoting a scam product.
    Bye.

Comments are closed.