Bug Girl’s Greatest Skeptical hits

I am swamped today, and trying to put the Skeptics’ Carnival together–so I thought since a bunch of new readers would be coming by tomorrow (in theory!), I’d put together a collection of posts that give them a flavor of Bug Girl:

1. Exploding pants
A post about the back story on a Mythbuster’s episode, with a link to a photo of Kari Byron with no pants. That has to be on anyone‘s Top 10 list.

2. The DDT-Rachel Carson Series of posts
In which I examine the evidence from those who want to demonize Carson and beatify DDT. Also see this review of a peer-reviewed paper on DDT that is not what it seems.

3. Bad Science and Marketing in the ‘Bee Movie’
I also looked at the unholy alliance between McDonalds and Conservation International to promote the movie. Ugh.

4. Is it illegal to Kill a preying mantis? Short answer: No.

5. Will herbal lotions repel mosquitoes?
In which I combine zombies, hamsters, Barry White, and mosquitoes in a single post. Rather proud of that one.

6. Threats of violence by creationists
Because that Jesus dude was all about killing people.

I don’t know that those are the best, or most amusing, posts, but they are some that consistently get a lot of traffic, and seem to be representative. Check out the category “ask an entomologist” on the top right for even more insect goodness!

9 thoughts on “Bug Girl’s Greatest Skeptical hits

  1. After thinking about the “creationist gene” I realized that in fact this could be true. In the history of human evolution, the presence of STD’s has been a selection factor. A psychological predisposition to certain social behaviors, (however irrational) can be a survival factor. It is my understanding that survivors of the Black Plague carry a gene which makes them resistant to AIDS, Correct me if I am wrong on that. I believe the report was on public TV.

  2. Sorry to be so slow Bug Girl, which is speculation? A: The AIDS gene or B: the association between predisposition to behavior and survival? C: both

  3. I was responding to your comment

    (1)
    My original comment
    After thinking about the “creationist gene” I realized that in fact this could be true. In the history of human evolution, the presence of STD’s has been a selection factor. A psychological predisposition to certain social behaviors, (however irrational) can be a survival factor. It is my understanding that survivors of the Black Plague carry a gene which makes them resistant to AIDS, Correct me if I am wrong on that. I believe the report was on public TV.

    (2)
    Your first response
    That seems extremely unlikely Paul. How would they put that to the test?
    It sounds like speculation.

    (3)
    My response (quite late)
    Sorry to be so slow Bug Girl, which is speculation? A: The AIDS gene or B: the association between predisposition to behavior and survival? C: both
    (4)
    My response at my blog site.
    http://infinitefuture.blogspot.com/2008/03/for-bug-girl.html

    BTW, If using your avatar there was inappropriate I will do a take down :), it was just a reminder for me to respond when you were available.

  4. AH. Now I’m with you. Sorry, I am still travel-buzzed.

    This is the part that I was objecting to:
    “It is my understanding that survivors of the Black Plague carry a gene which makes them resistant to AIDS”

    We really have no way of knowing whose ancestors had the plague, if it was black plague (yersinia pestis) or some other disease, or if they survived. Yersinia still occurs in Asia and Central America, and there doesn’t seem to be any link to resistance to HIV.

  5. I stand corrected. I thought I remembered that fact from the show, but I can always be wrong :) I will probably watch the show again and see where it got that impression.

Comments are closed.