The sweet smell of vindication

I thought I would make my first post now that I’m back from my conference something happy (in a schadenfreude way):

Makers of the herbal supplement Airborne have agreed to pay $23.3 million in a class-action lawsuit over false advertising. David Schardt, a senior nutritionist with the Center for Science in the Public Interest, says it’s just one battle in his efforts to prevent companies from making misleading claims.”

It’s always nice to see science win, and hucksters loose :D

BTW, Airborne claims to be a homeopathic medication on it’s label. You can find a little more background info at Quackfiles.

2 thoughts on “The sweet smell of vindication

  1. You wouldn’t believe the protests at school when I explained to people that the stuff doesn’t really work. “But a TEACHER invented it…” or the inevitable “But I’ve used it and it WORKS GREAT for me…”

    Rather than debate their cognitive delusions (a hopeless task) I’ve taken to pointing out, “Too bad it doesn’t really work the other 90% of the time to make the effect ‘real’.”

    Teachers invent lots of great things, but they’re usually pedagogical in nature, not pharmaceutical. Sheesh!

    andrea

Comments are closed.