Signs of spring

First, I noticed that all the trees along one of the roads on my commute looked like they were hooked up for an IV transfusion. It’s maple syrup time! The Michigan Maple Syrup Association has lots of info and recipes.male blackbird

Then, when I got home–Red Wing Blackbirds were singing. (You can listen to a recording here.)

After a long, cold winter, I just can’t tell you how happy that song makes me. It’s almost spring :D

[Photo courtesy alternatewords.]

EDITED TO ADD: a link to Hannah’s awesome post about Dirt Aromatherapy for Gardeners….continuing the spring theme:

“This would explain why the neighbors have pulled the shades. You have to admit that the sight of a grown, half dressed, wild haired woman huffing dirt has got to be unnerving to most people. “

6 thoughts on “Signs of spring

  1. One of the memories I have growing up is driving US 49 (I think) in Hillsdale County and seeing both sides of the road lined with huge maple trees large enough for three taps in most trees, with the metal buckets.

  2. I haven’t heard any RRBBs yet, but I saw a small flock of robins the other day… nothing says warm summer evening like a few robin whinnies!

    Also, I noticed today that my day lilies are starting to poke up through the soil, and I’ve seen a few magnolia trees covered in fuzzy buds. Yay!

  3. On Sunday I saw the first of the sandhill cranes migrating overhead. The RWBBS showed up here in Lincoln Park a couple of days ago. I didn’t think this winter would ever actually end, but it finally seems to be loosening its grip.

  4. Red Wing Blackbirds are a favorite of mine and the people that visit Jackson Bottom Wetlands Preserve in Hillsboro, Oregon (pardon the shameless plug for my favorite wetlands). They have favorite spots at the tops of the willow bushes along one of the ponds.

    Wetlandstom…

Comments are closed.