Weekly WTF: Hackers assault epileptics

You know, sometimes I read stuff online that makes me so mad, I just shake:

“Internet griefers descended on an epilepsy support message board last weekend and used JavaScript code and flashing computer animation to trigger migraine headaches and seizures in some users.

The nonprofit Epilepsy Foundation, which runs the forum, briefly closed the site Sunday to purge the offending messages and to boost security.”

I don’t talk about my epilepsy much here, since I’ve been lucky enough to be seizure free for several years now. The reality of epilepsy is that each seizure damages your brain a little more. And that you can DIE.

This is not script kiddies having a bit of fun.
I hope the little shits are charged with felony assault.

10 thoughts on “Weekly WTF: Hackers assault epileptics

  1. You know how I feel about this, as a fellow epileptic. I don’t understand why epilepsy is always the butt of so many cruel jokes and pranks. What is it about epilepsy that makes people think it’s okay to make fun? Do other disorders get the same treatment? I can’t think of any…

    Every time someone says in an offhand way, “I almost had a seizure!” I want to throttle them. If they only knew what a terrifying experience having a seizure is, they wouldn’t say things like that.

    Also, when I tell people that I have epilepsy they are generally shocked. I guess it’s because I’m so “normal.” Bah.

  2. I found this blog through below post on some GW climate scientist’s blog…

    What a funny name for a blog! I spent half a minute laughing my head off at the name and the crazy post by this Bird guy… wonder where he went… Bug Girl… Chica Bicho in Spanish (am from L-America)… Now that I think of it, it is also a very orginal name for a blog… for anything!… I love bugs (specially ants and big moths) and happen to have a mioclony ( a kind of petit mal epilepsy). Keep up posting!

    http://www.google.com/search?q=Martin+Hertzberg%22&sourceid=mozilla-search&start=0&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=mozilla&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:unofficial
    # Graeme Bird Says:
    June 16th, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    James.

    You made a whole swag of lying claims over on bug girls blog. Then you gave them the veneer of plausibility with two links that did not back your claims up.

    So I come over here and find out that not only are you a DDT-Holocaust-Denier…… But that you are also an energy-deprivation-crusader.

    You know damn well you have no evidence in either case.

    But would you like to go back over to bug girls blog and admit that you have misrepresented the book you cited?

    Or could you come up for evidence for the likelihood of catastrophic warming? For the idea that a little bit of human-induced warming is a bad thing during a brutal, pulverising ice-age….. or indeed for the idea that extra-CO2-warming is non-neglible.

    But most of all withdraw your lying claims at bug girls blog.

    50-million-minimum dead black kids is nothing to be flippant about.

  3. For those reading at home, Carlos is referencing this post, where Graeme really lost it. It’s how Graeme got to be the only person listed under my comments policy.

    Chica Bicho.
    I like it! :D

    Much better than “Wanze Mädchen”, or Insekt Frau, in German, which is the only language other than English I know (sort of).

  4. Hi, I’m disgusted to read Carlos’s use of the term “a kind of petit mal epilepsy” and even more outraged by the fluttering’s of Bug Girls eye lashes at this lecherous on-line flirtation. Carlo’s is clearly capitalising on Bug girls unfortunate condition like a paedo in an online jamboree. Next he’ll be suggesting they meet behind the toffee apple stall and introduce her to simon his pocket friend.

    Carlos’s flagrant abuse of “on-line” ettiquite is only exuasperated further by Bug Girl lapping up the milk like a big fat kitten.

    I find this whole site deplorable and pary the internet authority’s shut it down.

    That said, what is the big deal about epilepsy anyway, it’s like a you go a little wibbly wobbly every now and then – but please get over it. I suffer low sugar levels, do I go on.

    Good Day

  5. Big Al–is there any reason you have chosen to show up here, insult me, and then try to say epilepsy is not a life-threatening or serious condition?

    Asshattery, indeed.

Comments are closed.