Frost Free Date Frustrations and a Mystery

Gah! Depending on where I check, my frost-free date is between May 15th and June 9th. I suppose if I was really a proper gardener, I would have been carefully recording this sort of thing over the last few years.

I certainly *started* several garden diaries, but never really stuck with it. So now I’m just going to go with May 1, since by that point, I can’t stand it any more and must plant something.

June 9th is completely unacceptable (although it’s probably correct).  Picture me as Vizzini in The Princess Bride: “Inconceivable!”

I did plant some snow peas this week, so at least I was able to get that done, and may throw some of last year’s leftover spinach, lettuce, and cilantro seeds in to see if I get lucky.

slightly used bidetAnd now for the mystery: This bidet by the side of the road, courtesy of The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks.

What was the owner so “careful” about?  The mind….well, doesn’t really want to go there, actually. Also, I’m not sure a bidet is something you want to get second-hand.

I mean, it’s like getting underwear at the Goodwill Store. You can wash it with lots of bleach, but a part of you always feels funny about it.  (That’s one of the things I promised myself to never do again once I left grad school.)

A bidet would make a pretty interesting garden planter, or water feature, though. :D

3 thoughts on “Frost Free Date Frustrations and a Mystery

  1. I can tell you that in the Chicago area you’re tempting fate if you plant anything touchy (annuals, seedlings) much before Memorial Day. This date was something attributed to “old timers” but after 15+ years in contracting and seeing countless flowers get frozen I don’t smirk anymore. Plant pansies for now…they’re a bit tougher.
    Or a tree :)

    Oh, I’d snap up that bidet on the curb…the sign says the owner was careful, right??

  2. The bidet would make a good pig trough, especially if fitted with a ball valve so it was automatic.

    I don’t worry too much about frost-free days (ours are between mid May and early June, too). I just sow every week once the ground is dry, cover the seedlings with plastic bottle cloches and replace any frost-nipped plants as necessary.

  3. I know, but after living in the south for so long, it’s just *So Hard* to wait when the weather seems perfectly nice…..

    I’ve been having a friend grow my tomato and pepper seedlings for me, so she acts as a curb on my impulsiveness :)

Comments are closed.