Coffee And Conservation

I’m a fan of the C&C blog, and I really wanted to have more people read this post, with an awesomely delivered smack-down to Sara Lee, for their new line of “sustainable” coffee.

“The statement that UTZ is the most credible and comprehensive certification program is just false.
The most comprehensive and credible program for “protecting, preserving and improving” the environment is the Smithsonian Bird-Friendly certification, which requires organic certification and has other stringent criteria. I wrote an entire post describing how the UTZ environmental criteria are the weakest of all the major certifications.”

I’ve spent most of the morning cleaning and scrubbing to get a classroom up to snuff, so I’ll let you check out more coffee info while I collapse into a heap.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Coffee And Conservation

  1. Fancy a cup of home-made dandelion roof coffee? I’m fairly sure it’s bird friendly although I did disturb a few worms and a slug or two in digging the roots! :D

    Oh, and it’s caffeine free, too.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out. I’m on a bit of a posting slow-down while a major face-lift for the site is being coded, but I’d love to hear from some of your biologically-inclined readers what they’d like to know more about as far as biodiversity and coffee is concerned.

  3. Thanks for sharing that link, that’s a really interesting post and a really informative site.

    By the way, I’m glad you’re still keeping the blog ticking over. It’s very much appreciated :)

Comments are closed.