Ant Man: coming to a theatre near you

Coming in, um, like 2 years?
Yep, thanks to my close Hollywood contacts, I have a tip on a new insect movie!

Apparently there is an Ant Man comic, and like many other comics, it will be repackaged as a movie.

The plot:

Biochemist Dr. Hank Pym uses his latest discovery, a group of subatomic particles, to create a size-altering formula. Though his first self-test goes awry, he develops an instrument that helps him communicate with and control insects.

Shaun of the DeadThe director is Edgar Wright, and some have suggested Simon Pegg as the lead, which is just all sorts of flavors of awesome. So, I am cautiously optimistic.

No, actually, to be honest, I’m pretty geeked.

However, given the generally shitty job Hollywood does with insects on film, I can also imagine many, many ways this can go horribly wrong.

Mr Wright and Mr. Pegg:

I hereby offer my services as entomological consultant, free of charge.

Spare your self the ignominy of Bee Movie’s horrible fate (i.e., being mocked here and elsewhere for their utterly crap insect science.) Accept professional help.

4 thoughts on “Ant Man: coming to a theatre near you

  1. Eh, I have to say I’m a tad skeptical – they’ve been tossing around ideas for this movie since the first Spider-Man film came out, if not before. I’m not really sure why they want to make it, either. Don’t get me wrong, Ant-Man I (there have been three, technically, and Dr. Pym currently calls himself Yellowjacket) is an interesting character, but the protagonist of a superhero film? It’s not his powers – his powers rock. But, um, as far as the comics go, poor ol’ Hank is best known for:

    1) That one time he went totally crazy and created a complete other, more confident persona for himself, “Yellowjacket,” who believed that he was the murderer of Hank Pym. He then got married to his fiance Janet (the superhero Wasp) AS Yellowjacket, before getting better;
    2) That other time he went totally crazy, hit Janet, and got kicked off the Avengers;
    3) That time he created a superintelligent robot, Ultron, who then went evil and has since tried to destroy the entire human race a bajillion or so times. Oops!

    In fairness, last year he was declared Time’s Man of the Year in the Marvel universe. Really, what makes Hank interesting to me is that he’s a brilliant guy with an masculine inferiority complex but without a natural tendency towards heroism, working in the same community as men like Captain America, Thor, Iron Man and Mr. Fantastic. I’m not so sure he functions as remotely the same character without the rest of the Avengers, so I’m not sure why they would bother to use him – why not just the high concept and ditch “Hank Pym”?

    On an entirely different note, it would be really nice to see an Ant-Man story that actually made use of entomology sometime.

Comments are closed.