Alien Praying Mantis!

I, for one, welcome our new insect overlords:

“In the late 1980’s and early 1990’s, I found myself enmeshed in ufology, working as a licensed hypnotherapist with allegedly alien abductees. During this time, I made a telepathic connection with an entity, a tall gray insectoid looking alien, who said his name was Solux, and came from the other side of the sun. He resembles the description of the praying mantis aliens, allegedly more evolved, very tall and keeper of knowledge.”

Gosh, where to begin? I guess I wouldn’t assume that mantis aliens were all that friendly, but apparently his experience is different. He also has a special crystal that the mantis-alien appears in–check out the link above for some amusement.

A whole lot of people seem to come in contact with mantis aliens, enough that they are considered a specific type. They even got a mention in Demon-Haunted World.

There’s an interesting account from the late 90’s that documents the rise of the mantis alien type, and its occurrence in several abductee accounts. I recommend it.

I think the point Kottmeyer makes about the link between the rumors of sexual cannibalism and mantids’ predatory nature is probably spot on. Aliens (well, their human prey, anyway) seem obsessed with body orifices, and this would certainly fit the pattern.

The head of the mantis also does resemble the classic shape reported by alien-sighters, and if I could put my hands on it, there’s a great paper somewhere that discusses why insects are so often chosen as monsters in movies.

I’d also love for someone to scan me a copy of this:

Kottmeyer, Martin, “Bugs Baroque,” Ufo Magazine, 12, #4, July/August 1997, pp. 20-4.

Oddly enough, my university library doesn’t have UFO Magazine. Go figure.

[photo by Vicki; and thanks to Kstafford for finding the alien crystal-gazing mantis]

11 thoughts on “Alien Praying Mantis!

  1. Hi!

    I’ll be happy to scan that article for you, if you’ll give me a day or two. It’s a good one, and I think you’ll enjoy it.

    And there’s even stranger stuff each and every month; most of it true.

    Best wishes,
    Nancy Birnes, editor in chief

  2. But how much is the frequency of sexual cannibalism related to confining laboratory conditions?

    Researchers have also tried to breed Regal Fritillaries in captivity, with very little success. The conditions of captivity may impose considerable limitations upon the natural behavior of those being caged.

    andrea

  3. Actually, sexual cannibalism is probably a myth. (that’s why I said “rumors of sexual cannibalism.”)

    I thought about linking to what I wrote about that before, and just got lazy. Also, wordpress search SUCKS.
    Try this:
    http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Publications/ZooGoer/1997/5/preymingmantids.cfm?src=sec

    Also, several journal papers have critiqued the Roeder study, which first reported the cannibalism. It’s totally an artifact of how he did the experiments.

  4. Cannibalism is entirely unnecessary to make mantises scary little monsters… I mean, sure it’s cool and all, but pretty much only because I’m too big to qualify as a prey animal to them. Seriously, if I came across some space alien that bore more than a passing resemblance to one of those little monsters, I know I’d shoot first and ask questions later. Convergent evolution happens.

  5. Solux said he came “from the other side of the sun”?!? Apparently Solux has yet to realize that Earth orbits around the Sun, making “the other side” ill-defined. You’d think hyper-intelligent aliens would be better at giving directions.

  6. I think this is where Spielberg and Lucas got their plot for the new Indiana Jones movie (which, BTW, sucks!)

  7. I personally breed mantis sometimes and the female will often eat the male when they mate but its not always. I have seen the female just sit and let him do his thing. Attack him for even getting close to her and freak out once he is on top of her and then start eating. About 50% of the time the mating still happens even if the female gets ahold of him in my experience. I think regular cannibalism happens no matter what sex. I keep many of mantis together cause of the sheer numbers and care it would take. That means some will definately get eaten I just take that part into account.

    Quote of Bug Girl

    Actually, sexual cannibalism is probably a myth. (that’s why I said “rumors of sexual cannibalism.”

    I thought about linking to what I wrote about that before, and just got lazy. Also, wordpress search SUCKS.
    Try this:
    http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Publications/ZooGoer/1997/5/preymingmantids.cfm?src=sec

    Also, several journal papers have critiqued the Roeder study, which first reported the cannibalism. It’s totally an artifact of how he did the experiments.

  8. I remember an encounter with a mantis alien when I was a child of about four. I tried to pick up a praying mantis and it bit me. It’s head became as big as the room and it glared down at me with its two huge eyes. Anyone else had anything similar?

Comments are closed.