Happy Pollinator Week!

beeYes, June 22nd-28th is National Pollinator Week. Animal pollinators are needed for 90% of all flowering plants, and at least a third of human food crops.

We would be screwed without pollinators.

The folks at Pollinator.org have a bajillion PDF handouts for you, as well as some nifty posters. Xerces Society also has many PDF documents about how to garden to promote native bees.  (You did know honeybees are an introduced species in the US, right?)

Or how about checking out the book Forgotten Pollinators, or the Ecological Society of America Pollinator Toolkit?

BTW, while Michigan is pretty screwed up otherwise, the Governor has officially declared it Pollinator Week in Michigan (PDF).

Photo courtesy of Fairfax Co. Library

7 thoughts on “Happy Pollinator Week!

  1. I guess I’m a little out of touch. I didn’t know there was a Pollinator Week last year. but thanks for passing the word along about this. I’ll do the same.

  2. In honor of National Pollinator Week, I’ve posted a little photo essay on flies that are pollinators. They don’t get enough love.

  3. It’s the weirdest thing–the links to your blog are always messed up, Nuthatch!

    And it is a lovely photo essay. You beat me to my Thursday Topic :)

Comments are closed.