Mantospazmodea?

It’s great to see some coverage of the International Entomology Conference in Durban. I’m pretty sure, however, that this is not a recognized order:

Seven years since the discovery of the shy “heelwalkers”, entomologists still have conflicting views about whether the stick insect is the creature’s closest relative…..

The Mantospasmodea, commonly known as “heelwalkers” because of their unique way of walking with their “toes” up in the air, were discovered in 2002.

I’m pretty sure they meant “Mantophasmatodea” :D

One thought on “Mantospazmodea?

  1. Hee hee! Spazzy mantids!

    Thanks for the link; the order is something I had only heard of in passing. My edition of Borror was too old to have included it, and the reviews I’ve read of the latest edition sound too uneven, so I will wait for the next one.

    andrea

Comments are closed.