Dog-Day Cicadas

I’ve started hearing the dog-day cicadas! While the 17-year cicadas get a lot of press, there are also yearly cicadas. In the US, these are all in the Genus Tibicen (latin for “flute player”). The species I’m hearing most is Tibicen canicularus (and you can listen to its song at that link!)

These cicadas have life cycles of about 3 years, but broods overlap so adults emerge each year. They don’t emerge in large numbers like the periodical cicadas, and they are much more cryptically colored (and bigger!)

More Cicada Info:

Guide to the Cicidas of Michigan

Great Plains Nature Center has an explanation of how cicadas make all that noise

Related Posts:

Cicada image by CletusLee

6 thoughts on “Dog-Day Cicadas

  1. Of all the cicada species we have around here, the T. pruinosa is the one I hear in my yard, and they’ve been singing for at least a couple weeks. I like the T. pruinosa song, but in my brain have it irrevocably linked with hot, humid sticky weather. Dog-day cicadas, indeed! (But it’s fun to listen to the recordings in the depths of February.)

    andrea

  2. The cicadas have been out for a week or two in New Jersey. I’m not sure which species is the most common here.

  3. Shoot…I was going to post about cicadas, too. Must be that weird brain thing we have.

    That and the fact that I have heard 4 people incorrectly refer to them as either locusts or katydids….agggh!

  4. Pingback: Cicadas, cicada-killer wasps are back! « Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub

Comments are closed.