Caught in the Bug Net: 8.1.08

I just realized that I will be home less than 12 hours before I have to get on the road again, for another week.  Bummer :(

So, how about you read some other invert posts? And here’s a lovely photo of a deer fly, which are continuing to chase me around Minnesota.

Doug talks about Swamp Metal Marks and Fireflies

Eric finds a Maria Sybilla Merian Monograph and Kevin discusses why we need mosquitoes.

Ugly Overload has lovely photos of camel spiders, and coverage of a toothy slug in Wales.

Pretty pictures at Bugs for Thugs

The NCSU Museum points out that Science Daily has found the wrong photo again.  (Last week they posted a photo of honeybees on a story about bumble bees; this week it’s flies.)

I will be flying and driving for the next couple of days, but I’m back on Monday.

2 thoughts on “Caught in the Bug Net: 8.1.08

  1. Horse flies and deer flies do have the most lovely eyes — I always pause to admire them before I pinch their heads off. I’m a live and let live sort of person, but hordes of biting flies can drive anyone over the edge…

  2. Yeah, I must admit that the biting flies really push me to my limit of tolerance, even for an invert. Part of that may have been my time in Somalia where the Glossina sp. flies were such a pain. I prefer to admire tem from afar or after the head pinching. Their mouth parts are so terribly cool to look at under a scope.

Comments are closed.