Yet more damn travel

So, I am being ordered off into the wilderness again–this time to the Black Rock Forest in the Catskill Mountains.  I’ll be attending the OBFS Annual Meeting from the 16th to the 21st.

It’s going to be really pretty, and there will be nice people, but some things give me pause:

  1. It’s a long way, and I have to drive, since if I have to fly into NYC and then drive to Black Rock, my head will explode. It’s also cheaper to drive than fly, amazingly.
  2. Bunk Beds. Again.
  3. The theme for the auction and party is “Woodstock” since we are in the vicinity of the famous site.  Oh Dear.

I’m not sure, but I think some visitors will be lodging here, which is very pretty, and has no electricity or running water. I’m just not in the mood for rustic.

I’ll be 50 miles from NYC, but it looks like I won’t have any free time for sightseeing.  Anyone else in blogland going?

[photo from BurningQuestion]

3 thoughts on “Yet more damn travel

  1. > The theme for the auction and party is “Woodstock” since we are in the vicinity of the famous site. Oh Dear.

    Not to worry. It’s too late in the season for skinny dipping.

  2. Oh. I hadn’t even thought of that.

    This could be very, very scary. They take these themes very seriously. Here’s a photo from 2005–the highland theme:

  3. Wish I could go with you, as that would be fun! I think you need to seriously consider lodging in one of the mentioned nearby B&Bs. It sounds like you will need a hot bath to wash off all the goofiness…

Comments are closed.