Donors Choose Insect Challenge!

If you didn’t hear about it, there is a Blogger Challenge for DonorsChoose.org:Give to DonorsChoose

“DonorsChoose.org is a simple way to provide students in need with resources that our public schools often lack. At this not-for-profit web site, teachers submit project proposals for materials or experiences their students need to learn. These ideas become classroom reality when concerned individuals, whom we call Citizen Philanthropists, choose projects to fund.”

I have created a page of insect-related projects in high poverty schools that I think are really interesting and innovative.  They use insects in cross-curricular ways, and these are things that I think will be lasting efforts that will benefit future students too.

With the year winding down, perhaps you are looking for something tax-deductible.  Maybe right now you want to do something positive to balance all the negativity in the world.  You can also give a donation in someone’s name as a gift, if you are stumped for what to get someone for the holidays.

I hope that all the insect lovers out there (and maybe even some entomology departments!) will consider giving to these projects and sharing our wonder in the entomological world.

I’m also supposed to “offer to do something wacky” if all my chosen projects are funded.  Nothing much is coming to mind, since you’ve already seen me with my arm up a cow butt, and exposing myself to people in Milwaukee.

What can I do that will top that? Feel free to make suggestions.

2 thoughts on “Donors Choose Insect Challenge!

  1. Hi!

    I am really trying to get some insects into my classroom even if they are encased. Could you please consider adding my proposal, “Expose 2nd Graders to Science!” http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=194822 to your Blogger Challenge?

    Thank you ever so much! These children really need to be exposed to science and insects and other little animals are part of that.

    Thanks again,

Comments are closed.