Time to buy seeds!

Yep, time to indulge a little and make my seed orders for spring. Since there’s about a foot and a half of snow on the ground right now, it’s kinda hard to imagine when I’ll actually even see the ground again, much less dig a hole in it.

But hope springs eternal, and since it looks like the house is not going to be sold for a while, I’m going to barge ahead and plant my garden as if I’ll be here to eat it all. *  I do have a tendency to dream big and overplant, but hey, it’s all good.

I am totally in love with Big Mama tomatoes, but I just don’t have a long enough summer for them. I get a huge crop right at the beginning of September, when I’m gnawing my fingernails about a early frost.  I’m still dithering about what tomatoes to grow this year–most of my past experiments with heirlooms have been…odd.  I’ll definitely grow Fresh Salsa variety tomatoes, but what else I’m just not sure.  Probably good old Roma.

I’m very frustrated at the number of pollen-free sunflower varieties offered this year.  Will no one think of the insects?! Seriously. Pollenless flowers??  That’s like the crust-less bread you can buy for picky kids.
Sheesh.

Here’s what’s being planted this year–some old, and some new:

Snap Pea: Cascadia
Pumpkin:  Spirit Hybrid
Spinach: Correnta
Winter Squash: Cornell’s Bush Delicata
Pole Bean: Blue Lake FM1 Organic
Corn: Early Sunglow
Hot pepper: Ancho
Green/sweet Pepper: Red Delicious

What are you going to plant this year?

*Because, you know, I will be here. Forever, apparently.

4 thoughts on “Time to buy seeds!

  1. I’m now on the mailing list for Seeds of Change (a good place for gift cards, BTW). I don’t have the heart to open their catalog – I don’t have hardly any room outside my unit to garden.

    I need a house, darnit.

  2. I’m going to try to grow loofahs this year. Mostly the goal is an attractive vine for a pergola we built this year, but I’ve learned that in some parts of the world loofah is eaten as a vegetable and I’m looking forward to trying it.

  3. Sucks to be stuck somewhere with no apparent prospect of escape, doesn’t it? Houses are great things, but they can be an anchor sometimes. Especially in economic times like these. :-(

    We have been planting as much insect/wildlife friendly plants as possible, especially bee-friendly plants. (We’re in WV, near DC.) It has worked out relatively well, especially as we have also started using ladybugs, mantids, etc. for pest control.

Comments are closed.