Career Tip # 6: REU Applications

Do not print your cover letter for an NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates on Hello Kitty paper.

Seriously.

Had it not also come with transcripts attached, I’d think some of you were just messing with me.

Other things you should not do when applying:

  • Don’t have an email that is something along the lines of asss69@yahoo.com for your primary contact
  • Don’t email me DAILY with questions about your application, the process, and if we’ve made a decision yet
  • Don’t start your letter with “Dear Sir” if I am NOT a SIR.
  • Don’t use Babelfish to translate your emails. I’m pretty sure that’s how this sentence was created:  “If there is any information I can render you with, please ask.”

Related posts:

5 thoughts on “Career Tip # 6: REU Applications

Comments are closed.