Saturday is Firefly Day!

I wrote last year about a new Citizen Science program called Firefly Watch. It’s a partnership between the Boston Museum of Science and researchers from Tufts University and Fitchburg State College to track these special summer insects.firefly

They ask volunteers to spend some time outside in the evenings and to report what they see online.  Researchers want to  learn about the geographic distribution of fireflies and their activity during the summer season.

The museum is holding a Firefly Day this Saturday to kick off the program!

The Firefly Watch website opens in May–so why not sign up now, and get your data sheets ready?  They even have a neat virtual habitat that you can practice your ID skills in!

I can tell you first-hand that I had a GREAT time doing this last year–kids and grownups both will have a blast.

Join Firefly Watch Today!

Related posts:

8 thoughts on “Saturday is Firefly Day!

  1. Apparently there are a lot of fratboys who claim the same superpower. I don’t think it’s as effective in attracting mates, though.

  2. Those things were thick down here in Texas when I was a kid. I can remember we still had swarms of them in the 1980s. I can’t recall having seen any in years though.

Comments are closed.