Comic Villain: The Bug-Eyed Bandit

W00t! MightyGodKing brought another insect super-villain to my attention:  The Bug-Eyed Bandit.

A dude with the catchy name of Bertram Larvan, he is listed as having two superpowers: Entomology and Robotics.

Now, leaving aside for the moment the validation of what I’ve always known–entomological knowledge confirms superpowers–how did this make him a villain?

“Bertram Larvan was an inventor who designed a mechanical insect to control insect pests. Unfortunately, he had no financial backing to support his invention. He resolved to steal money he needed for his invention. He later used his invention to steal more. Soon, he had an army of mechanical insects and took the name of the Bug-Eyed Bandit.”

See? This is what comes of having only a 10% success rate for federal science grants!  Scientists decide to get their own funding via crime!

Ok, maybe not.

Mr. Larvan was an opponent of the Atom, which seems fitting, given the Atom was bug-sized.  Larvan sported a rather dashing Goatee, and had the unusual fashion sense we have come to expect from insect related villains.  Personally, purple and green are two of my favorite colors; however, it’s a bit overdone in his outfit.

For some reason, the Bug-eyed Bandit kept losing his memory and recovering it, and moving in and out of crime.  Making him, I suppose, the ultimate absentminded entomologist.

Related posts:

5 thoughts on “Comic Villain: The Bug-Eyed Bandit

  1. This post combines two of my favorite things…bugs and comics. This post reminded me that there are great insect references out there in comicdom, which forces me to go dust off my boxes of back issues and take another look.

    I’m glad to see that this cover features two of the insects I’ve created for my blog – praying mantis and dragonfly. Would you mind if I link to your blog on my blog? Please advise.

    Thanks,
    Doug

  2. No problem, Doug. Links are always appreciated. Note that the image belongs to comicvine.com.
    (and they have many more entertaining images of the Bug Eyed Bandit!)

  3. I need to take some new screenshots of my bug-related superheroes on the online game City of Heroes: Alpha Ant, Itty-Bitty Bumblebee, and El Bam.

    My fairy bruiser Tankerbella also has bug wings.

  4. Indeed!
    Who is the real criminal here, the scientist, or the fatcats in Washington who won’t fund research?

    Perhaps he should have pitched it to the DoD – they are very keen on mechanical insects last I heard.

Comments are closed.