A Holiday Garden Story

I really thought this was a cool story from Michigan, and wanted to share.  I don’t really get into the whole Holiday thing, but I’m all about heartwarming stories :)

“Question: What do area farmers and students have in common with more than a dozen prisoners at Camp Pugsley?

Answer: They produced food for others through Michigan State University Extension’s Master Gardener Program.

Michigan State University Extension in January started its first Master Gardener Program at Pugsley Correctional Facility, a secure Level One state prison near Fife Lake….Pugsley had nine gardens inside the razor wire with a total of 60,000 square feet, and two outside the perimeter for an additional 20,000 square feet. They produced and donated more than 19,000 pounds of food.”

I firmly believe in the healing power of gardening–I thought this was a great way to take a negative and turn it into a positive.  I hope this program will continue!

There is a book on starting prison gardens: Doing Time in the Garden.

One thought on “A Holiday Garden Story

Comments are closed.