Entomologists in togas?!?

I happened to pick up this flyer for the North American Forensic Entomology Association Meeting.  Pretty much everyone is interested in forensic entomology, the same way everyone looks at a train wreck. It’s both horrible and utterly fascinating.

But here is the part that caught my eye: “A roman-themed social gathering will follow the final day of presentations.”

Uh. what does that mean?

Togas?  Will there be a vomitorium?
Inquiring minds want to know.

It’s not the right date for a Saturnalia, but that would be pretty interesting too. This Roman festival sounds like fun: “The Ludi Florales included theatrical entertainment, including mimes, naked actresses and prostitutes.”

If anyone is planning to go, please report back to us on what, if any, bacchanalia-type activity occurs!

3 thoughts on “Entomologists in togas?!?

  1. I have never visited that hotel but if it’s like most meeting spaces I’m sure there will in fact be a vomitorium. Contrary to the popular image, the vomitorium is where the building vomits, not where the people do. It’s the exit hall.

    I’m sorry if that takes all the fun out of it.

  2. The entomolgy folks I knew as a grad student at UGA were are rather “odd” collection (and I don’t mean that in a disparaging way, they were great to hang with). Had one male prof that would occasionally show up for lectures wearing black leather lederhosen (No, I never asked). I’m get the impression this is a typical discription of those in the discipline. Maybe these forensic entomologist are even considered a fringe group by them?

    (Don’t even get me started on parasitologist and quirky).

Comments are closed.