Truck

Author: Michael Perry
Bug Rating:

I always get books from the library, mainly because I really don’t like spending money when I don’t have to. (Some call this being a “cheap bastard”. Personally, I consider it “wise frugality.” )

Sometimes I check out a book and immediately know it’s one I want to buy to keep. Truck is one of those books.

By page 10 I had already found a bunch of things that made me think “I should save that for the blog.” By page 20 I was wishing I had written the book.

To give you a flavor:

” I tend to garden on impulse and intuition. Apparently there are better ways. If my raised beds have any consistency, it is that they are anemic and squirrel-riddled. My garden gives me inner peace and salad, but it also yields cat turds and wilt.”

and the painfully true:

“Seed catalogs are responsible for more unfulfilled fantasies than Enron and Playboy combined.”

It is superficially the story of his plan to rehab his International Harvester 1951 truck; it is actually the story of a life in a rural town and love; love of gardening, attempted love of women, and love of the human condition.

[repost from 2007, because I’m missing my garden and wanted to add the Bug Rating]

One thought on “Truck

  1. On first reading this I thought “International Harvester??? No, no – it was a Dodge.”. Then I clicked the link and discovered you’re talking about a different book. I’ll track this one down – and you might want to add John Jerome’s “Truck” to your reading list.

Comments are closed.