Mid-Life Chrysalis

I will be offline for several days, starting this evening, as I make the trek east to my new job. I’m still frantically stuffing things in boxes, but I am getting close to finished.

It’s a big transition from a research station to a main campus student-services-oriented job, but the folks I’m going to work with seem pretty cool. They also seem to see an online presence as a plus, rather than a negative, so while I’ll still be using my pseudonym for the foreseeable future, perhaps I’ll eventually be able to have a personal opinion in public.

(For those of you that missed the 2009 drama, my boss decided an anti-lobbying law applied to me since I had budgetary power over state funds. The outcome of this was that I was ordered not to speak about any policies or politics as my real self. And, for a while, not as an anonymous teal broad with antennae on the internet either.)

Until I get past that 6 month probation period, though, don’t expect any big reveals!  I hope that when I finally emerge from this midlife chrysalis that I look like Dr. Girlfriend from the Venture Brothers.

Here’s hoping for an uneventful move, and an exciting new chapter in my career.  And, I’m really happy to have landed a full time job with benefits.

Also? OMG check out these Monarch shoes.

4 thoughts on “Mid-Life Chrysalis

Comments are closed.