Show other science bloggers what bugologists are made of

Yep, it’s time for the yearly DonorsChoose Science Challenge!
I chose 4 insect science projects in high poverty schools, and I hope my buggy friends will step up and fund them.

I especially would like to see the Teach For America student in Connecticut get her project funded, since TFA is a project I love, and it’s close to my new home!

For those of you that aren’t familiar with DonorsChoose, here’s how it works: public school teachers post classroom project requests on DonorsChoose.org.  Anyone can contribute any amount to a project that inspires them. Once a project reaches its funding goal, Donorschoose delivers the materials to the school.  You also get very cool thank you’s and photos from the teachers and kids.

Get with the clicking, people!    

DonorsChoose.org - Give the gift of learning - Go

4 thoughts on “Show other science bloggers what bugologists are made of

  1. I love DonorsChoose.org and try to help fund once project every other month. So far I’ve been funding music programs, because the arts are usually the first to go when funding is tight, but I’d be happy to contribute to an insect project for a change.

  2. Just wanted to let you know that, suitably inspired by your example, my lab (grad students and undergrad research assistants) all contributed to a Donors Choose insect project near us, and then I matched their amount. We were able to completely fund a great project in a high poverty school, and the students had a great time. So thanks for the idea (I’d contributed myself before, but we hadn’t made it a lab project). Hope yours all get funded too!

Comments are closed.