Books, bugs, and curiosity

I was looking up a reference book on Amazon, and it happened again. Amazon recommended a book for me that was so strange, I couldn’t resist the temptation to download it.

Today, it was a book about were-spiders.  I had to buy it.
Because….WERESPIDERS.   I can’t wait to find out what kind of webs they spin.

A couple of weeks ago it was a book called “Kilts and Kraken”  (in which I discovered that “Release the Kraken!” is a Scottish sexual euphemism), and the week before that something called “The Firefly Witch,” which had a disappointing amount of fireflies–i.e, none.  I bought a book about carnivorous genetically modified thrips, and another one about carnivorous dust mites.    You heard about “Bug, Naked” and the heroine’s web-slinging vagina last year.

You are probably sensing a theme here.  Fiction books with insects or invertebrates in them are like a UV light to a moth for me–I can’t resist them.  With the advent of eBooks, I can now discover random odd books and download them with one click.  (Warning: eBooks are a gateway drug. For book addicts like me, this can rapidly develop into an expensive habit.)

Even when the books are terrible, I usually still have fun reading them. And as someone who wants to write fiction, but doesn’t seem to have it in me to actually write a book, I feel a little guilty about being publicly critical of a author’s efforts.  (Unless it’s something like The Worst Book I’ve Ever Read EVARCicada Summer. I can only describe it as “Sexist, Racist Plan 9 from Outer Space with Reproductively Deviant Giant Grasshoppers.” That one I lambasted with no guilt at all.)

What books can’t you resist?
Have you read anything on an impulse that was fun? 

9 thoughts on “Books, bugs, and curiosity

  1. Amazon recommends books based on your previous impulse buys, because really, it’s there to support your habit. I try to limit those impulse reads to the library, and most times I succeed.

  2. So funny! I read that book a long, long time ago seems to me. I really liked it (being a hard-core science fiction fan,) but as I recall each successive book in the series got worse and worse until they were unreadable. I don’t remember the were-spiders, but do remember some kind of monster that looked something like a bunny, if memory serves. I’d forgotten all about it until your post. Hope you get some fun out of it ;-)

  3. I wish David Gerrold would finish the War Against the Chtorr series….War by biological/ecological invasion was a pretty slick idea.

  4. Oh, I’m not reading the Chorr book; I just had that cover photo handy. The book I’m reading is called “Spider’s Lullaby”, and it’s shaping up to be pretty epic. As of page 17:

    A. The name of the werespider is Charlotte
    B. Someone has stolen her egg sac, containing what may be vampire/werespider hybrid offspring

    Wow. Just….wow.

  5. Spoiler Alert: the novel ends with the spiderlings mentally bonding with a stripper and turning into tiny bouncers at her club.

    WHAT IS THIS I DON’T EVEN

  6. I’m going to have to look for Spider’s Lullaby. My most memorable impulse book was Bimbos of the Death Sun. It was at a thrift store and I bought it because of the title. Turned out to be a fun story about an electrical engineer solving a crime at a sci-fi convention.

  7. I’m constantly misreading the titles. I thought it was “We’re Spiders.” My version is always so much more interesting! I have few guilty pleasures when it comes to reading, as I’ve so little time, I can’t waste my time with drek. I did have a parent two years ago who so got my sense of humor. (She was an astrophysicist.) She gave me a copy of “Way Grimmer Tales – A Wicked Collection of Happily Never After Stories” by Erik Bergstrom. Way better than a gift certificate for Starbucks! I’ve been reading about genetically engineered bugs, so all of this bug stuff is THAT CLOSE to crossing over into the non-fiction genre.

  8. _Parasite Pig_ by William Sleator. You should read _Interstellar Pig_ first since it sets things up (it’s good), but _Parasite Pig_ is great! Not merely one kind of invertebrate, but a bunch of them.

Comments are closed.